“The Spirit Is Willing, But the Flesh Is Weak.” (Biblical Question)

Jesse’s Biblical Question of the Week:

What did Jesus mean, “The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak”? (Matthew 26:41)

We asked this question on Twitter, his personal YouTube channel, his show’s Facebook page, and Jesse asked out loud on his daily radio show (watch video above). The response was very interesting!

Jesse asks these questions every week to try to help you get to know yourself — to know that you know, or know that you don’t know. In the Bible, it says that we should “think on these things,” rather than the things of the world.

Join us for Church on Sunday 11am PT (1pm CT / 2pm ET). Also commit to doing the Silent Prayer — also found on the Church page.

3 Comments
  • James Hake
    Posted at 16:44h, 27 April Reply

    Very good question! Was never totally clear to me what he meant.

  • Chris Conner
    Posted at 19:09h, 30 April Reply

    Check this word study, translation study out… Matthew 26:41

    γρηγορεῖτε καὶ προσεύχεσθε, ἵνα μὴ εἰσέλθητε εἰς πειρασμόν· τὸ μὲν πνεῦμα πρόθυμον ἡ δὲ σὰρξ ἀσθενής.

    Wake up, stay awake and pray so you may not rise up or come into temptation or a trap of Satan.

    For certainly when the spirit is full of passion, anger, indignation, or wrath the flesh is at the same time weak and feeble.

    Matthew 26:41

    • James Hake
      Posted at 19:13h, 30 April Reply

      WOW!

Post A Comment